2018 Annual Business Meeting, Election of 2018-2019 Officers & Board, Program & Reception

Date: Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Time: 4:15pm - 7:00am
Location: Elkridge Country Club, 6100 Charles St., Baltimore, MD 21212
Speaker: Ron Shapiro

Sponsored by: Alex Cooper Auctioneers

About the Speaker:  Mr. Shapiro founded Shapiro, Robinson & Associates, a sports management firm that developed a national reputation through its holistic approach to contract negotiation, sound financial management, and commitment to community involvement on the part of its clients.  USA Today called Ron Shapiro "one of baseball's most respected agent-attorneys," and The Sporting News has named him one of the "100 most powerful people in sports."  His impressive list of clients includes more Hall of Famers than any other agent, including Cal Ripken, Jr., Jim Palmer, Brooks Robinson, Kirby Puckett, Eddie Murray, and 2009 American League MVP, Joe Mauer.  He has appeared as a negotiations expert on ABC's "Good Morning America," National Public Radio's "Morning Edition," and ABC's “Nightline," among other programs. In addition, Mr. Shapiro hosted a weekly talk show and a series of prime time specials on NBC Baltimore affiliates.

4:15 pm               Registration and light refreshments
4:30 pm               Mr. Shapiro’s Presentation
5:15 pm               Annual Business Meeting including Introduction & Election of the 2018-19 BEPC                               Officers  & Board; Vote on amendments to the Articles of Association                                   
5:30 pm               Cocktail Reception

President Anne R. Meltzer, CPA/ABV, ASA
President–Elect Charles B. Jones, Esq., AEP®
Vice President                       Adele Zilber, CLU, CLTC, MBA, AEP®
Secretary          Matthew Mace, Esq., AEP®
Treasurer  Joel L. Simon, AEP®
Immediate Past President David C. Dembert, Esq., AEP®

Directors Nominated to Serve Three Years
Christine Buckley, CFP, ChFC, CPWA
Joseph S. Ferlise, JD
Tina Lignos, Esq.
Michael Mandish, CPA, CSEP, CDFA
Jacqueline F. Yahr Esq

 Directors Continuing to Serve Two Years
Norris Brodsky, CFP
Chester Hobbs, Esq.
Jeffrey Judge, CFP, ChFC, CLU, CFBS, AEP®
Colleen McCloskey

Director Nominated to Serve Two Years
Elizabeth A. Green. Esq.  

Director Continuing to Serve One Year 
Thomas A. Byers, CPA
Peter Maller, MBA, CFP, AEP®
Ricka E. Neuman, CPA
Michele Tremblay, CPA, AEP®

Proposed Amendments to the Articles of Association:

Article III A as follows:  “...who, respectively, maintain their business offices reside or do business in the State of Maryland.”

Article VII B as follows:  “The Secretary shall mail to notify each member a notice of about the annual meeting of the Council at least fifteen (15) days prior to the date on which it is to be held.”    

The Nominating Committee met and submits the proposed slate of Officers and members of the Board of Directors.  The slate will be considered at the Annual Meeting on Tuesday June 5, 2018 at 5:15 pm.  

See Upcoming Event Calendar